OPINIONES – REVIEWS

Cuestionario de Satisfacción

Si quieres, puedes dejarnos tu opinión a través de este ENLACE, donde tienes un CUESTIONARIO DE SATISFACCIÓN.

También puedes dejar tu opinión en las diferentes páginas donde nos anunciamos.

If you want, you can leave us your opinion through this LINK, where you have a QUALITY QUESTIONNAIRE

You can also leave your opinion on the different pages where we advertise.

TripAdvisor     log toprural       lonely_birder_largo

 
October 2017

“As keen birdwatchers we chose to stay here in order to have an experienced guide – which Javier certainly proved to be. We were delighted by all aspects of our stay. The house is lovely, the situation peaceful and the breakfasts and dinners varied and delicious. Most of all we appreciated the warmth and helpfulness of our hosts. We certainly hope to return.”

Jill – Sheffield, United Kingdom

 

lonely_birder_largo
 
Opinión escrita 19 de Octubre de 2017 TripAdvisor

Un lugar perfecto para desconectar y disfrutar del ambiente relajado y cuidado que trasmiten los dueños, Javier y Valvanera. Todo un acierto fue reservar la cena ya que con productos sencillos y de temporada nos sorpresdieron muy gratamente. Muy recomendable. 

Opinión escrita 15 de Octubre 2017 TripAdvisor

Hemos estado este puente del Pilar y nos ha encantado el lugar: el trato cercano y muy agradable, la habitación perfecta, camas amplias y cómodas, En la Posada se respira tranquilidad, está cuidada con mucho gusto.
Recomiendo desayunar y cenar allí pues la comida es deliciosa hecha con mimo y para mi gusto muy abundante y variada.
Un acierto!!!

Opinión escrita 8 septiembre 2017 TripAdvisor

Thank you javier for looking after us so well, our second visit! All too short..this place needs a few days to explore! Last time we walked in the canyon and saw amazing wild life, it is a hidden gem !

Opinión escrita 5 septiembre 2017 TripAdvisor

es como volver a estar con unos amigos de los de toda la vida. Hacen tan agradable la estancia que uno ya piensa en volver.Además ya tenemos nombre para nuestro nuevo perro:Chipi ,gracias a ellos y a su niña

lonely_birder_largo

Anonymous  September 2017

For both of us the birding trip from Molino del Canto was a real highlight; lunching with griffin vultures circling around and a magnificent view was a never-to-be-forgotten moment.

All three hotels were wonderful and any less than perfect scores were due to the limited facilities due to the isolated nature and location of the posadas, which was part of their perfection. We needed longer in both the first hotels, and will probably book them again.

lonely_birder_largo

 lonely_birder_largo

Opinión escrita 10 agosto 2017 TripAdvisor

Es un placer volver por tercera vez al Molino. Un gusto compartir tiempo con Valvanera, Javier, su peque y los dos guardianes de cuatro patas. El entorno, el alojamiento, la gastronomía… Simplemente, todo perfecto. Muchas gracias. Volveremos.

Opinión escrita 26 julio 2017 TripAdvisor

I would thoroughly recommend Molina for its beautiful location and Javier’s knowledge of the landscape and culture of the local area. They have walking guide maps that you can use independantly or you can spend a splendid and thoroughly informative few hours with Javier as he shows you some of the local birdlime. Eagles, vultures, hoopoes and golden orioles all there for your enjoyment!

Opinión escrita 22 julio 2017 TripAdvisor

This lovingly and sympathetically restored old mill right by the banks of the Ebro river is the perfect place to switch-off and enjoy a simpler pace of life. Javier and his wife have created a friendly and quirky small hotel (only 6 rooms) with access to some amazing walking routes in the canyons and plateaus of the Ebro river. Blissfully peaceful – only the sounds of the river and the many local birds to break the quiet. First class and imaginative home cooked evening meal each night ( with excellent wine options to complement ) plus breakfasts that really set you up for a days walking. Really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and very much hope to come back again

Opinión escrita 13 julio 2017 TripAdvisor
We stayed for 3 nights with Javier at this lovingly restored old mill by the Ebro. The room was full of character with a downstairs seating area, upstairs mezzanine with a bed and end suite with a wonderful shower to restore aching muscles after a day walking. The food was delicious and made with care, accompanied by good wines … both red and white Riojas were excellent. Nights were comfortable free of noise and light pollution to guarantee restorative sleep! The local walks along the Ebro are stunning both in and above the canyon with the karst and local geology fascinating. The butterflies and birds are stunning …. it made us realise how depleted we have become of butterflies in a UK summer. The swallowtails and chalk blue brought back memories. The serins at Cortaguera, an Egyptian vulture at Obanjera and grey wagtails at Valvecuesa were a few of the birds we saw. This place is peace personified and Javier very accommodating and helpful. This lost valley is well worth discovering
 
TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 12 julio 2017 

There was a big choice of walks and the 2 walks we did were very interesting and spectacular. We saw many different kinds of birds, butterflies and wildflowers. The river and the limestone gorges are on a grand scale. The Molino del Canto was a delightful place to stay with a shady riverside garden where we could relax after a full day. The building has been beautifully restored. As vegetarians we had notified Javier in advance and we were very pleased with the varied breakfasts and dinners. Our room was spacious, comfortable and elegantly furnished.

Opinión escrita 11 julio 2017 TripAdvisor

genial, fantástico, maravilloso, que me faltan calificativos para esta gente tan encantadora. Merece la pena quedarse unos días a descansar, disfrutar del ambiente, del sitio, de la naturaleza y aprender las muchas cosas que nos pueden enseñar estos grandes anfitriones.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 8 julio 2017 

When you like nature it is good to be there. The house is surrounded by nature, they used honest materials in the house and you get pure spanish maels. We both have a diet and nevertheless we had dylicious maels.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 7 julio 2017 

This was our second visit in two years which may suggest how much we like it. Great meals, a small but good wine list and the added pleasure of an “interesting” digestif after dinner! Breakfasts are varied and filling and, of course, tasty.

Miss J Ince  Broxbourne July 2017

We really enjoyed the contrasts between the three areas/hotels. The startling contrast from Collia and the hills to the flat plateau and gorges of Barrio la Cuesta was amazing, something for which we were unprepared. Even in August (although fortunately not fiesta week) the roads were not busy, and nowhere especially busy. The local people all very helpful and charming, very few other British tourists in general and very little English spoken. There was plenty to do, to walk, drive, explore, places to visit etc, and we would love to have stayed longer at each place. The food in Collia and Barrio La Cuesta was very special and became a highlight for us! 

Anonymous  July 2017

At Molino del Canto: the location is very remote and utterly quiet – which we loved – but can appreciate that this would not be to everyone’s taste. Javier’s half-day birding tour by car was fantastic and we saw 37 species, including rare Montagu’s Harriers. 

The variety of walks suggested at each location offered wonderful contrasts: from the grandeur of the Cares Gorge in the Picos to the scope of the Ebro Canyon to the coatsal route from Zumaia to Deba.

Mr R Lewis  Stroud  July 2017

Hotels all first class with excellent food (where included) – El Molino in particular is a real treasure – beautifully restored and characterful accommodation, charming hosts and delicious food, all in a tranquil setting beside the Ebro river in an amazing undiscovered part of rural Spain. Getaria offers masses of restaurants and pintxo bars with some fabulous food on offer all within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

The three areas visited are all totally different offering fantastic contrasts and the drives between are straightforward – we’d strongly recommend taking a diversion between hotels 2 and 3 and going an hour south to Burgos as its a really lovely and often over-looked city. The walk selection is just right and the notes were highly detailed, accurate yet easy to use – helped as well by the obvious care taken in each area for good way-marks and path maintenance. 

 

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 22 junio 2017 

The room here was fantastic — spacious, clean, comfortable, quiet. Lovingly restored medieval stone building. We slept soundly after our walks. This hotel is in a tiny little town with little or no amenities — you’ll be eating at the hotel unless you wish to drive. But it is near some of the most beautiful walks you can imagine — mountains, canyons, gorgeous little pools of bright blue water. Javier and his wife are friendly, lovely, helpful people, though it very much helped to be able to speak Spanish. The breakfast and dinners were excellent — and my vegetarianism was well accommodated. The only issue was our packed lunch, which was pretty basic (a cheese sandwich + apple). Not bad, but not great. Overall, recommended.

Mr P Stern  Wirral  June 2017

This holiday is well named as the 3 venues are in great contrast. The green hills of Asturias, the high plateau and canyons of the Province of Burgos and the pretty port of Getaria provided very different lodging and walking experiences, all of them interesting and enjoyable. The 3 hotels were all excellent in their own ways. If we had to pick a favourite it would probably be the Molina del Canto, where Javier and his wife provided wonderful home cooking in their charming restored mill. Their breakfasts were extraordinary and different each day. We had a wonderful day birdwatching with him. An enthusiastic expert, he identified 53 different species for us in English including eagles and vultures. This was a truly memorable day. Getaria is a delightful little fishing port but it was very crowded with day trippers on Saturday and Sunday, and on Monday many of the shops and restaurants are closed. We would suggest trying to plan the holiday so that it finishes in Getaria during midweek.

Mr J McCullough  York  June 2017

Had a lovely trip to N Spain. Covadonga Lakes walk a fantastic opener (blue sky day) but get there early to get a spot in top car park (we got the last one at around 1000!). Orbaneja del Castillo/walk also fantastic – best to try and book when you arrive if you want lunch there after your walk. Try an evening drive to Tudanca (across river from Molino del Canto) – waved to bride & groom on packhorse bridge en route and lovely riverside parking at Tudanca. Super swimming at surfing beach in Getaria overlooked by the hotel. Recommend bus to Zumaia for train to San Sebastian. Had amazing meals at Mayflower & Elkano restaurants in Getaria, Kaskazuri in SS (3 course lunch in modern gastro restaurant with sea view – 3 courses, bottle of wine, bread etc for 22 Euros) & Zallo Barri in Gernika.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 18 mayo 2017 

This cozy, welcoming inn is in a beautiful and relatively unknown part of Span. The inn itself is in a lovely spot with a peaceful, pretty garden beside a river; the rooms are well-appointed, spotlessly clean, & cozy, with good beds, modern plumbing, and vintage decor. The surrounding landscape — Ebro Canyon — is eye-popping; it reminded me of canyonlands in the western US. Best of all is the family that runs it; they could not be kinder. The food is delicious and generous, the atmosphere friendly — even the dog is a treat! Hikers can find a variety of interesting trails nearby, from easy to challenging; for birders, this place is truly special, as the host is a professional birder who gives tours. Our day out with him was a highlight of our trip. I hope we can return one day.

lonely_birder_largo

 

David and Majken  May 2017

Generally we were happy with this trip – the scenery was magnificent especially around the Posada del Valle. We found driving between the three places difficult at times as the roads were sometimes very narrow and winding around in the mountains. All the walking is up and down which is difficult when it is hot and humid. We had booked this trip for the third week in May as it had said the average temperatures at that time would be 19C to 20 C. It was actually 27/28C and very humid – up to 90% at times. Too hot to walk in. El Molino del Canto is a remote, charming old converted Water Mill and the host Javier is vey nice and helpful. The meals are good local dishes but rather big portions. Javier is an expert birder and his bird watching excursions are really interesting and worthwhile doing. Hotel Saiaz Getaria has the most amazing sea views as it is built on a cliff but otherwise the least interesting hotel of the three. We paid more for a room with a sea view but that was worth it. People were friendly everywhere. 

Mrs S Brown  Edinburgh  May 2017

A wonderful holiday staying in quality small hotels often tucked away in quiet Spanish country backwaters with friendly, helpful hosts and wholesome food lovingly prepared from fresh local ingredients. The walks from Hotel Posada del Valle that we particularly enjoyed were walk 2, the Covadonga circuit where the variety of Alpine mountain flowers in May were spectacular. The other walk we enjoyed from this hotel (even in the rain) was walk 4, the Asturias Village Trail along hidden paths through farmland and pretty settlements. El Molino del Canto in the Ebro Valley was set in countryside that could easily have been out of a ‘Wild West’ movie as it was so different. We particularly enjoyed walk 1 here around Orbaneja del Castillo and spent ages up on the plateau among the circular stone Chozos admiring unusual butterflies and flowers and even spotting a hen harrier overhead. The limestone pools at the start of the walk were also quite spectacular. Thank you for helping us to enjoy a marvellous holiday in a little known part of Spain.

Opinión escrita 19 abril 2017 TripAdvisor

Volvimos a Molino del Canto después de años de no volver por circunstancias personales, lo recordaba con cariño , y a si fué , la zona es tan maravillosa, tranquila,bella y lejos de todo, Javier, Valvanera y como no Carlota son personas cordiales, amables, naturales, las personas adecuadas para llevar un lugar como aquel, desayunos y cenas buenisimos, habitaciones muy agradables y limpias, y la experiencia de observar pájaros nos encanto, nunca lo había vivido, muy recomendable. No puedo decir nada mas que recomendarlo. Besitos sobre todo a Carlota y sus piedras pintadas. volveremos como no. Muchas gracias hasta pronto.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 16 abril 2017 

We stayed here for four nights this March. Our hosts, Javier and Valvanera (and their lovely daughter Carlotta) were perfect. It was the last four days of our 5 week Spanish tour, and was the loveliest place that we stayed. Each bedroom is upstairs with its en-suite bathroom, and has a downstairs small living room with comfy sofa and table etc. The beautiful converted farmhouse is in a lovely countryside location, next to the river and with a pretty garden, and of course, lots of garden birds. Unfortunately the weather was cool and cloudy (but we appreciated the gorgeous log fire in the evenings) when we were there but good walking weather and Javier gave us excellent paths to find for some super walks in the area. The food was great and Javier went to a lot of trouble to produce interesting meals for us and a tasty picnic when we spent a half day with him bird watching. This is highly recommended as Javier is extremely knowledgeable about all the local birds and we saw lots, even a hoopoe, and a short-toed snake eagle! We were made to feel so welcome and when we left I felt really sad as if we were saying goodbye to old friends. If we ever return to Spain we will certainly come here. Parking was easy, right outside the house.

Opinión escrita 17 octubre 2016 TripAdvisor

We spent several days at the Posada Molino del Canto during Easter 2016 and absolutely loved the place, and the wonderful attention to detail in everything about it from the rooms, to the furniture, set up and food… Highly recommend it. Also for the bird watching which we did not sign up to this time. We will definitely come back to enjoy that, and the relaxing atmosphere of the Posada.

Opinión escrita 14 octubre 2016 TripAdvisor

La amabilidad de los propietarios y la tranquilidad del entorno así como la calidad de los productos de la cena y desayuno son motivos más que suficientes para visitar este pequeño remanso de paz para los amantes de la naturaleza. Sin tele ni apenas cobertura te obliga a desconectar de las prisas de la ciudad. Imprescindible visitar el mirador del cañón del Ebro a pocos kms de distancia.

La insonorización entre habitaciones no es del todo buena y la wifi solo se pilla en el comedor. Si tienes problemas de movilidad o no sabes vivir sin cemento no es un alojamiento adecuado.

TripAdvisor

Opinión escrita 1 octubre 2016 

Como quien hace algo sin importancia, así, sin darse mérito, pero lo han vuelto a hacer, estos chicos son geniales, han conseguido que tanto mi mujer como yo hayamos pasado unos días deliciosos, cuidados a cuerpo de rey, habiendo disfrutado de la naturaleza y el ambiente que saben crear a su alrededor y habiendo aprendido un montón de cosas con ellos: de pájaros, de naturaleza y de muchas más cosas igualmente importantes. De nuevo gracias, Valvanera y Javier, seguid así, que lo hacéis genial, un abrazo muy fuerte y hasta pronto, porque volveremos, ¡vaya que sí!

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 15 septiembre 2016 

The rooms were spectacular, the hosts were friendly and accommodating, and the evening meal was our favourite meal during our trip to Spain. What more can be said? This spectacular hotel was booked through our cycling tour company and it’s definitely worth returning to.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 4 septiembre 2016 

Put simply, this place is amazing and so are the people (and dogs). If you like birds but don’t know much about walking in Spain then this will be a life changing experience and you will go onwards to do more and see more. Javier and his family have done something special here and it shows through in the other reviews. Our species count for a few hours in very late August hit 40 and include a purple heron and 7 different raptors. If you do like walking and know our birds, the same applies. The habitat variety in a narrow orbit is extensive – and Javier knows it well. Love this place. The only question for me is what length of stay is right for a given party. You have to work that one out for yourself. We found two nights perfect as part of a week in the wider area. With more research I could imagine doing more. And I reckon we will be back. And I’ll be recommending it to other people I know will be interested.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 19 agosto 2016 

Lugar paradisiaco y propietarios superacogedores. La posada esta supercuidada y todos los detalles ayudan a disfrutar de la estancia. Los alrededores, el rio Ebro, y los paisajes y pueblos de la zona aconsejan aun mas la visita

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 18 agosto 2016 

This is a really special place -a beautifully restored old mill house, wonderful countryside and, most importantly of all, the most lovely family as hosts. You can’t help but feel serene and peaceful and you don’t need to stray far to find fabulous walks and pretty villages. The food is really delicious and all the ideas for what to do really spot on. We loved our stay.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 15 agosto 2016 

This restored mill on the banks of the Ebro is full of charm and character and utter peace. You feel so well cared for from the minute you arrive. If you are a birder, Javier’s extensive knowledge will take you to all the special locations for the birds. We are amateurs at birding but really enjoyed our day out with Javier who took us to many different locations and with his brilliant telescopes could show us baby vultures in nests high up in the cliffs. His wife Vavanera cooked up stunning food, so welcome at the end of a long and scenic hike in the gorges. This is a very special place indeed. We highly recommend it.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 8 agosto 2016 

Un lugar apartado, tranquilo y precioso, con el sonido del río Ebro y los pájaros de fondo. Una cena riquísima y un desayuno muy completo. La habitación y la decoración de toda la casa, con muebles antiguos y madera por todas partes…espectacular y muy acogedora. Muy recomendable para descansar el ruido y disfrutar de los paisajes que la rodean.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 31 julio 2016 

Spent three nights at the Posada with my wife. It is remote but you are extremely well looked after by a lovely family with excellent breakfasts and home cooked dinners. There are plenty of places to drive and walk to from the house and the countryside around is stunning. Javier, the owner, also conducts bird watching tours. He is extremely knowledgeable, an expert at spotting birds and generally good company. His wife and daughter are also very welcoming and a delight to stay with.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 27 julio 2016 

This beautifully, rustic accommodation was just what we were looking for to relax and take in the ambience of hidden Spain. Our hosts made us feel so welcomed and could not do enough for us. The home-cooked food they provided for breakfast and evening meal was divine and second to none. The hotel room was on two levels with the bathroom and bedroom on a mezzanine floor and an ample-sized sitting room beneath this which was tastefully decorated. Also, we were able to relax in the tranquil garden by the River Ebro to watch the wildlife. If you are into ‘birdwatching’ the host is an expert and has a business running day trips for ‘twitchers’. We would happily make a return visit and highly recommend this holiday venue if peace and quiet is what you love.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 26 julio 2016 

Molino del Canto es un lugar muy acogedor en un entorno maravilloso. Javier, Valvanera y su peque son amabilísimos y están pendientes de todos los detalles. Las rutas ornitologicas con Javier son muy recomendables, divertidas y siempre sorprendentes. Los desayunos y cenas exquisitos, con productos ecológicos y de la zona. El alojamiento impecable, cómodo y tranquilo. Es un autentico placer disfrutar de unos dias de descanso en Molino del Canto.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 6 julio 2016 

I agree with previous reviewers that this is a special place and the family who own and run it are extremely welcoming and helpful. It was great to have our own sitting area downstairs in our split level room. The immediate environment is lovely; it was hot while we were there and we enjoyed being able to sit under a tree by the river and listen to birdsong. The food was excellent. Everything was really fresh, well presented and varied and they obviously made an effort to make local specialities/traditional dishes that you wouldn’t necessarily see in restaurants. The area is quiet and beautiful.

Ms T Stuart  London July 2016

Highlights were birding with Javier, the long canon walk in your notes (beautiful) and surfing at Zarautz (which you could also make more of in your notes).

We had a magnificent holiday, discovering parts of Northern Spain unknown to us and enjoying much excellent walking along the way. An especial highlight was the food at El Molino.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 30 junio 2016 

Well off the beaten track, Molino del Canto is worth finding. Interesting and sympathetic furnishing of all rooms with a lounge area downstairs and bedroom/bathroom above (just six rooms). Excellent food (especially for veggies) all freshly prepared and cooked. As novices, we found the half day’s birdwatching absolutely fascinating. Javier (the proprietor) is so knowledgeable and enthusiastic that you are swept along. Javier and his wife are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 29 junio 2016 

We had a very enjoyable 3 nights here, next to the Rio Ebro. All of the meals were excellent and the stone building very cooling after a day out walking. All of the rooms are on 2 levels, with living area downstairs, bed and bath upstairs. There is WiFi in the dining room – a little patchy as you move further away.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 29 junio 2016 

The highlight of the posada was the hosts, and their daughter Carlotta, who made us feel very welcome and in Javier’s case made appointments for an urgently needed physiotherapy, not an easy task because of the isolation of the posada. For anyone who likes something different and off the tourist trail this is a must. The scenery is spectacular and walking is very good and Javier is an expert on birds. The food was evceptional – a different set menu was offered every night cooked by 
Bev

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 13 junio 2016 

The very comfortable room is on two floors – bedroom and bathroom on the top floor with a lounge on the lower floor – all rooms start on the first floor i.e. up some stairs. Breakfasts and dinners are excellent, delicious and filling – no choice but it is nearly all organic and there is lots of fruit. Javier and Valvanera are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 9 junio 2016 

We stayed three nights a part of a car and walking holiday arranged by Inntravel. Javier and Valvanera were excellent hosts. Our walks were a prelude to inventive, tasty evening meals using local sourced produce. Great base for birdwatching and on the plateaux incredible variety of flowers. Overall very relaxing.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 5 junio 2016 

We stayed here for three nights – part of a self guided tour entitled ‘Three faces of green Spain’, offered by Inntravel, a UK based company.
We can honestly say that our stay with Javier and his family was the highlight of our holiday. In particular, the half day birdwatching was highly enjoyable, with suitable 4×4 transport, a delicious picnic, and first rate optical equipment provided. However, what made the trip stand out was Javier’s knowledge of birds and their habitat – 56 species (23 new to us) bears testimony to this. 
The setting of the posada is really beautiful – all you can hear is birdsong, the flow of the river – and occasional barking from Chippy and Otto, the family’s two friendly dogs. Rooms are clean and full of character, with bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Meals are delicious and plentiful. 
Walking in the Valle de Zamanzas is brilliant, all grades catered for. We had the benefit of Inntravel’s excellent walking notes to guide us, but Javier can also advise on walking in the area.
We look forward to retuning to Molino del Canto in the not too distant future. In the meanwhile, if you’re thinking of going…go!!

Ms J Keates  Polegate June 2016

It was a new area of Spain for us to explore and we fell in love with each location. The standout place for us was El Molino del Canto as it was in such a beautiful setting with the loveliest of hosts. We could have done with more time in each place as there was so much to experience so I would recommend booking an extra night at each place if you have the time as the driving on the transfer days is quite long.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 10 mayo 2016 

Experiencia inolvidable, el entorno serviría para rodar un documental de National Geographic, la Posada para grabar una clase de Turismo Rural Sostenible, así con mayúsculas, el trato y saber hacer de sus dueños, Valvanera y Javier, para poner como ejemplo de gestión de recursos humanos y naturales…
Resumiendo: hemos descansado, hemos aprendido (mucho) de aves,en particular, y de naturaleza en general, hemos recargado las baterías a tope, hemos disfrutado como niños y queremos volver otra vez ya mismo.

Mr M Hendrickson  Edinburgh May 2016

Personal highlights: all the walks we did were very enjoyable.  My favourite walk was the Pesquera del Ebro; Gillian’s was the Eastern circuit through Getaria (despite the rain!).  However, the most enjoyable time we spent was half day (5 hour) birdwatching at Molino del Canto.  We saw 56 species during the time we were out with Javier, who provided a high standard of bird watching equipment (binoculars and telescopes), as well as an excellent picnic.  Above all, Javier brought his fantastic knowledge of birds, as well as an understanding of where to look for them.  To cap it all, he produced a blog, recording in word and photograph, a thoroughly memorable occasion.  

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 5 abril 2016 

Han sido unos días maravillosos disfrutando del Parque Natural de las Hoces del Alto Ebro y Rudrón, un paraje espectacular. Nos ha encantado La Posada Molino del Canto, alejado del bullicio y ubicado en plena naturaleza a la orilla del río. El lugar es sinónimo de paz y de tranquilidad. El día empieza con un desayuno saludable y abundante para afrontar sin miedo la práctica de senderismo y en las cenas se disfruta de una cocina deliciosa elaborada con mucho mimo además de la agradable compañía de Valvanera y Javier, dueños del establecimiento. Siempre dispuestos a ayudar.

Es muy recomendable ir de la mano de Javier para disfrutar contemplando la gran variedad de aves que habitan en este espacio natural. Ha sido verdaderamente impresionante.

Gracias Valvanera y Javier por habernos hecho sentir como en casa, por la comida tan buena y por los consejos para visitar la zona.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 15 marzo 2016 

La dedicación, atención y amabilidad de Javier y Valvaneda junto con la naturaleza del lugar hacen de este hotel un lugar inolvidable. Cada detalle está cuidado al extremo y refleja la calidez de sus dueños, desde la decoración de cada espacio hasta el servicio de mesa. Desayunos y comidas excelentes con productos típicos de la región. Habitaciones impecables con sábanas son de hilo almidonadas. Disfrutamos enormemente nuestra estancia en este mágico lugar

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 4 marzo 2016 

Esta ubicado entre las montañas donde se escucha correr el Rio Ebro.Atendido por sus dueños,cuya calidez lo hacen aun mas acogedor.Se respira paz y tranquilidad.Cada detalle ha sido pensado para hacerlo muy homely.Excelente lugar y muy calida atencion.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 15 enero 2016 

Hemos estado varias veces y nos parece un sitio precioso; La familia que lo regenta ( Valvanera y Javier) cuidan todos los detalles y te hacen sentir como en casa. Riquísima cena ( tienes que reservarla) y magnífico desayuno. Alrededores muy interesantes.

TripAdvisorOpinión escrita 13 enero 2016 

Un rincón en medio del cañón del Ebro, donde perderse unos día y disfrutar de la naturaleza, paisajes, pueblos y gente. 
Recomendable 200%. 
La gente de la posada, te sabe guiar perfectamente para que no pierdas ni un detalle de la zona. Trato, servicio, comida, inmejorables!!!

Mr S Lawrence  London September 2015

We had a great time in Northern Spain. Each of the three destinations was very well selected and offered different types of walking, all of which we found really enjoyable and challenging. We really enjoyed our meals, particularly at El Molino Del Canto where Javier and his family were excellent hosts. The notes and maps provided were excellent and allowed us to select from several walks to find the ones that most suited us in terms of duration, the scenery and the challenge of the walk. The walking notes were extremely detailed and kept us from getting lost. Thanks very much. We look forward to travelling with you again in the future.

Mrs Bryans  Warwickshire August 2015

El Molino del Canto was idyllic, so peaceful. Accommodation and meals were exceptional also. We very much enjoyed a birdwatching expedition which our host brought alive with his expert knowledge and enthusiasm, it was a unique experience for us.
 
Anonymous May 2015
“A very pleasant well restored sanctuary in the heart of the Ebro valley. Excellent meals and a very helpful host, who can provide details of local walks. Our room was a surprise – downstairs sitting room, upstairs bedroom and bathroom (yes, a real bath to our great joy). Plus a good seating area in the communal dining room, WIFI works well near the kitchen door, and a guided tour of the old mill on offer.”
 
Anonymous December 2014
“A Christmas like none other. The valley is a world apart and del Canto is a gem on the riverbank. Though rustic on the outside, the posada is a deceptively modern and well designed hideaway. Pressed linen sheets, cozy blankets, invigorating showers, sleeping loft and lower sitting area, light from above; superb peace and comfort with the music of the river and a toasty fireplace. Meals are careful gourmet preparations with local ingredients. Christmas Eve dinner was beyond words. Javier is an experienced and expert birdwatching guide (and chef). Do not miss your chance to learn from him. “
 
Anonymous September 2013
“Our first Alisdair Sawday booking and if this is the general standard – WOW. Great rural location, delicious food and most importantly delightful, kindhearted and most interesting hosts. Good walks in wonderful countryside.”
 
Anonymous July 2012
“We have always used Sawday SPECIAL places to stay. We have stayed in Portugal, Spain, France and the UK. All have been good and a little special but this is, without doubt, the MOST Special. Fantastic food, excellent accommodation, beautiful location, wonderful ambiance. Truly a very special place to stay.”